My T1D Diagnosis Story

I am 21 years old and I was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes on 20th June 2016. A life changing disease that I will most likely have forever, but a manageable one. For over a year I suspected I was diabetic with symptoms such as peeing a lot, drinking a lot, napping all the time, hard to concentrate ect. I mentioned it to my doctor but he felt it was unlikely that I was a diabetic.

Fast forward to drinking a lot of cocktails on holiday in Zante, Greece (They were very cheap aha!). I woke up early the next morning and felt extremely unwell. I walked to the bathroom and fainted. My boyfriend had no idea what was wrong with me. He had to get a hotel maid to sit with me while he ran to the closest doctors. During the traumatic event of being transported to the doctors were I was even unable to see for a short period! (Which was pretty scary). The doctors couldn’t figure out was wrong with me, mentioning it could be a virus. My blood sugar level was three times the limit and would not reduce, even after being on a drip for 6 hours. I was eventually injected with some insulin and advised to eat only salads with no sauce (Which was a nightmare, I love food).I had an urgent doctor’s appointment when I arrived home.Which I was then diagnosed with Diabetes. My doctor was quite shocked as suggested that Type 1 Diabetics usually become acutely sick and are admitted to hospital for a few weeks.

Lots of people react to being diagnosed with Diabetes differently. For me, I am relieved! It explains why I have fainted previously, the constant naps every day, why when I would go on runs some days I could run for long periods and other days I couldn’t run the length of myself.

What does Type 1 mean?

The pancreas stops producing insulin or not enough insulin to break down any sugars I ingest. Therefore, I am insulin dependent and have to inject myself with insulin four times a day (I swear it isn’t as bad as it sounds). The cause of Type 1 seems to be unknown, some doctors would suggest genetics, however it does not run in my family. It is something nobody can prevent. If you have heard that eating too much sugar gives you Diabetes, you would be talking about Type 2 Diabetes. Type 2 Diabetes means a person is insulin resistant. Usually you can be diagnosed with Type 2 Diabetes due to being over weight and having a bad diet.

Skydive for Diabetes UK

Often I find myself needing to do crazy things when something bad happens to me… like getting tattoos or apparently jumping out of a plane at 10,000ft. This led me to taking the plunge and raising some money for Diabetes UK.

Skydiving was amazing, definitely an experience I will never forget. Although when he has pulled the parachute

G0074108.jpg

If you would like to Skydive in Northern Ireland or anywhere around the Uk I definitely recommend Wild Geese. They put your safety first and have certificates to prove their experience. http://www.wildgeeseskydive.com/

Please share your stories in the comments below!

3 thoughts on “My T1D Diagnosis Story

      1. Hi
        You can find the scientific papers on pubmed or search on scholar.google.com “type 1 diabetes milk”. These videos are also very good:

        Take care,

        Like

Leave a Reply

